Virginia auto insurance
Whether you live in Richmond, Roanoke, Northern Virginia, or Tidewater, Elephant Insurance has you covered. Elephant offers low-cost auto insurance coverages and many other products for Virginia drivers. Get an auto insurance quote online or call one of licensed agents at 1-855-ELEPHANT.
We’ve provided some information below that we hope will be helpful in answering some of your questions about car insurance in Virginia.
Virginia car insurance coverages
Virginia auto insurance coverage requirements can be different from other states. Your policy must meet the following minimum limits of liability:
- $25,000 for the death or injury of any one person, any one accident
- $50,000 for all persons in any one accident
- $20,000 for any one accident
This basic coverage is often referred to as 25/50/20 coverage and is required by all drivers in Virginia. However, with car insurance, the more coverage you have, the less it will cost you out of pocket if you get in an accident.
For more information on how to select the right level of coverage for you visit our Car Insurance Coverages FAQ page.
Other questions about driving in Virginia?
Visit the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles website for information on registering your car, driver’s licenses, SR22s and FR44s.
Get a free auto insurance quote for Virginia
You can get a Virginia car insurance quote online or call us at 1-855-ELEPHANT. From paying your bill, to making changes to cars or drivers on your policy, to reporting a claim – Elephant is available 24 hours a day, 365 days a year.
What if my payment is attempted and it fails?
Unfortunately, since we may incur fees for decline payments, Elephant charges a $35.00 Insufficient Funds Fee (NSF Fee) whenever an automatic payment attempt is declined.
A $10.00 late fee may also be charged if payment is not received by the close of business the day after your due date.
What if I know that I will not have enough money in my account?
Customers may contact Elephant at 1-855-ELEPHANT and request that their payment not be attempted. However, to cover bank costs, Elephant may charge certain administrative fees, including:
- A $35.00 Insufficient Funds Fee
- A $10.00 late fee (charged two (2) days after your due date)
To make sure that every request can be entered correctly into our billing system, we ask that customers call in at least 3 days before their due date. Any request made less than three days prior to your due date will be entered into our queue, but we cannot guarantee that your balance due will not be attempted.
Once your due date has passed, you will receive a notice in the mail explaining the full past-due balance, and will need to call payment into our office or mail in a check to keep your policy active.
If I make partial payments before my due date, will I be charged multiple installment fees?
No, installment fees are charged on a per installment basis. So, if you have ten (10) installments to pay over the course of your twelve (12) month policy, you will be assessed ten (10) installment fees.
The actual amount of the fee will vary based upon your pay plan.
See the Fee Schedule Chart below.
When is my installment fee applied to my account?
Installment fees are applied on a monthly basis, either when your account is billed, or when you make your monthly payment.
What is an “NSF” Fee? When could it be applied to my account?
A NSF Fee is an “Insufficient Funds” Fee. This fee is only applied if the payment method you have on file is declined by your bank or credit card company for insufficient funds. When this happens, a fee of $35.00 is immediately applied to the account.
When can a late fee be applied to my account?
Late fees are only applied if a customer misses their payment due date – they apply to all policies with the exception of the “Paid in Full” option
All late fees are applied two (2) days after the payment due date. So, if you make your payment the day after your due date, there will be no late fee! If not, a $10.00 fee will be applied to your account.
What is a reinstatement fee?
This is a $10.00 fee that is applied to your account for reinstatement related to non-pay cancellations. For example, if you miss your payment due date, and cannot pay before the cancellation date on your non-pay cancellation notice, a $10.00 fee will be applied to your account if and only if you decide to reinstate your policy. Elephant will never charge you a reinstatement fee if your policy has been cancelled in error.
What is a FR-44 fee?
This is a DMV related fee required for certain DUI-related convictions. These convictions include but are not limited to: driving while under the influence of intoxicants or drugs, or maiming while under the influence. If you feel that you may be liable for this fee, contact DMV for further clarification.
What is a SR-22 fee?
This is a DMV related fee required for certain unrelated DUI convictions. These convictions include but are not limited to: unsatisfied judgments, uninsured motor vehicle suspension, falsifying insurance certification. If you feel that you may be liable for this fee, contact DMV for further clarification.
Fee schedule chart
|Fee name||Amount||When applied||Important info||Plan exempt from fee|
|Installment Fee||$7||Incurred on a per installment basis for select pay plans.||None.||Paid in Full.|
|Late Fee||$10||Applied 2 days after a payment has not been satisfied.||None.||Paid in Full.|
|Reinstatement Fee||$10||Applied to the account in the event of a reinstatement.||This fee applies only to customer-requested reinstatements.||Paid in Full.|
|NSF Fee||$35||Applied immediately after a payment is attempted and fails.||None.||Paid in Full.|
|Recurring to Non-Recurring Pay Plan Change||$10||Applied during policy amendment for pay plan change.||None.||Paid in Full.|
|Referral to Debt Collection Agency||$20||Incurred when debt is forwarded to Collections.||None.||None.|
|FR-44 Fee||$75||Policy fee applied when submission of FR-44 Form is requested by policyholder.||If you feel that you may be liable to pay this fee, please contact DMV for verification.||None.|
|SR-22 Fee||$75||Policy fee applied when submission of SR-22 Form is requested by policyholder.||If you feel that you may be liable to pay this fee, please contact DMV for verification.||None.|
- Nearly 10,500 drivers in Virginia were ticketed for speeding during …Read More »
- Comprehensive auto insurance will help keep you financially protected from …Read More »
- The severe storms that Texas sees brings out the best …Read More »