Maryland drivers can quote online for our 12% web discount!
If you’re a Maryland resident in search of car insurance, you’ve come to the right place. We know choosing coverage can be tricky, but it doesn’t have to be. Learn about Maryland car insurance requirements while saving money on your policy.
Car Insurance Coverage Requirements in Maryland
Maryland drivers are required to have at least 30/60/15 liability limits on their car insurance coverage. This means:
Bodily Injury Liability coverage per person
Bodily Injury Liability coverage per accident
Property Damage Liability coverage per accident
These minimum coverage requirements protect the victim from property damage or bodily injury in the event of an accident. 32% of Elephant customers in Maryland opt for coverage higher than the state minimum.
Maryland is one of the states where driving without insurance is a misdemeanor offense. Uninsured motorist penalty fees for each lapse of insurance include – $150 for the first 30 days then $7 for each day until insurance in obtained. The annual maximum that you can be charged is $2,500 per vehicle. The first offense could result in 5 points to your license, a $1,000 fine, and up to one year in jail for providing false evidence of vehicle insurance. The second offense could result in an additional 5 points, $2,000 fine, and up to two years in jail.
You can take advantage of the coverage options available from Elephant Insurance, including:
Liability Coverage covers other people (not you) for their injuries and property damage if you cause an accident. Even though it technically doesn’t cover your injuries or damaged property, Liability Coverage does protect you from being financially on the hook if you cause an accident. Learn more about the differences between liability and full coverage.
Comprehensive and Collision
Comprehensive and Collision coverages pay to repair or replace your car if it damaged, regardless of who is at fault. You select a deductible that you pay out of pocket and your insurance company pays for the remaining damage up to the limits you select.
PIP (or Personal Injury Protection) pays the cost of necessary medical care resulting from injuries you and your passengers receive as a result of an auto accident, and applies regardless of who caused an accident, plus it can reimburse you for lost wages and can also cover non-medical expenses related to your accident.
When the person at fault for an accident does not have motor insurance, Uninsured Motorist coverages will cover damages, medical treatment, and lost wages. If your injury expenses exceed the at-fault party’s liability limits, you can use Underinsured Motorist Bodily Injury coverage to pay for the amount not covered by the at-fault person’s insurance.
Rental Reimbursement provides rental car coverage if your car isn’t drivable for more than 24 hours because of a covered loss under Comprehensive or Collision coverage.
Towing & Roadside Assistance
Roadside Assistance coverage saves you from being stranded on the side of the road when something goes wrong with your car. If you lock your keys in your car or you get a flat tire, you can call Roadside Assistance to get help as soon as possible.
Factors That Impact Your Car Insurance Rate In Maryland
Your car insurance rate is dependent on many variables. Here are a few factors that help determine your insurance rate:
Frequent accidents, tickets, and insurance claims alert the insurance company that you are a high-risk driver, and your rate will likely be higher than a driver with a clean record.
If you have a long commute, drive frequently, or use your vehicle for business, you will likely pay higher rates. If you don’t drive often, work from home, or park in a garage or covered carport, you could qualify for a rate reduction.
Type of Vehicle
The type of vehicle you drive can impact your insurance rate. Cars that are older, smaller, have a lower safety rating, are more expensive to repair, or are considered luxury vehicles often require higher premiums. Learn more about how your vehicle impacts your rates.
Car insurance rates sometimes trend up or down. The premium you pay will depend on these overall rate trends.
In Maryland, a driver with no credit may have a 41% higher premium on average than a driver with excellent credit.
Other Car Insurance Options In Maryland
If you opt out of getting a traditional car insurance policy, here are your alternatives.
Deposit of Cash/Security with the Comptroller
This is the most common option requiring you to have money set aside in cash or certificate of deposit (CD) with the Maryland Treasurer of State.
A surety bond requires that two other people insure you based on the state minimum requirements and agree to pay costs associated with an accident deemed your fault if you fail to do so.
Deposit of Cash/Cashier’s Check with County Judge
This option requires that you make a cash deposit with the county judge in case it’s needed to cover accident-related expenses.
Certificate of Self-Insurance
If your company owns more than 26 cars, you can become self-insured instead of using a traditional policy. You must provide proof that you’re make enough to compensate if found at fault of an accident.
How to Save on your Car Insurance in Maryland
You can take advantage of the many discounts offered by Elephant including:
- Multi-car discount
- Responsible driver discount
- Good student discount
- Paperless account discount
You can also save 12% just by quoting online!
Save On Your Car Insurance When You Bundle
Unlock even more savings when you bundle your insurance with Elephant. Combine homeowners or renters insurance with your auto policy to keep money in your pocket with our multi-product discount.
Maryland Car Insurance & Driving Laws
Insurance companies are required by law to provide fair, reasonable rates to all eligible drivers. There are some laws that impact qualifying for insurance and your rates.
Most companies review the Comprehensive Loss Underwriting Exchange (CLUE) to review your claims history. This information can help a company determine your rates.
This form ensures that a vehicle has been continuously insured and that coverage on the vehicle is current.
Maryland is a non-SR-22 Insurance state. However, it may apply to drivers who move to another state. The Maryland DMV has more information available.
If you receive a moving violation, DUI, license suspension, or revocation you will likely pay higher car insurance premiums.
Distracted Driving Laws
One in five crashes involves driver distraction. In Maryland, the law prohibits all motorists from writing, sending, or reading a text message while operating a vehicle in the traveled portion of a roadway. A texting violation is a misdemeanor and carries up to $500 in fines. The violation will also add one point to the motorist’s driving record. And drivers who are under 18 years old may face a license suspension of up to 90 days for a texting violation. Visit your state’s government page for more information and read more about cells phones and safe driving.
Teen Driving Laws
In Maryland, teenagers can receive their learner’s permit at age 15 and 9 months. At age 16 and 6 months and after holding the learner’s permit for at least 9 months and completing 60 supervised driving hours, teenagers become eligible for a provisional driver’s license. Learning to drive comes with a lot of responsibility, and there are restrictions in place for drivers under age 18. Check with your insurance company before your teen obtains a permit to learn more about adding them to your policy, and for more information on teen driving laws, visit https://mva.maryland.gov/Documents/DL-060.pdf
Out of State Violations
Most states share out of state violations with the driver’s home state. Once your insurance company is notified, they will determine whether the violation will impact your premium.
Maryland Car Insurance FAQs
Here are a few frequently asked questions about Elephant Insurance policies:
What coverage is right for me?
Like most things, car insurance isn’t one-size-fits-all, but when you have the right tools, you can feel confident in the policies you’ve selected. Now that you’re familiar with each of the coverage types and your state’s minimum requirements, you’re well on your way to finding the coverage that works best for you. For more guidance, check out our Coverage Wizard or read more in depth about the coverages Elephant offers!
What if I need to get my car repaired?
To make your claims experience as easy as possible Repair Assistance Program facilities are pre-qualified to ensure quality & exceptional standards.
When and how can I change my car insurance policy?
At any time! Making changes to your policy shouldn’t be difficult. You can log into myElephant to make most changes to your plan.